AddictionUnscripted.com is NOT affiliated by any treatment centers, we will NOT be accepting phone calls as we build out a resource page, please email [email protected] for any inquiries

Stay Connected

© 2018 Addiction Unscripted All Rights Reserved.

Discuss

Jason Smith 116 Rep.

I’ve heard people say that the 12 steps have kept them clean and saved their lives. I’ve also heard people call 12-step programs a cult with a very small success rate. Opinions on AA & NA seem to be either one extreme or the other. What is your experience? What are your thoughts on AA and NA and other 12-step programs?

Shelly W. answered ago
    Art DavalosMatthews 20 Rep. Ago

As a therapist, I often wonder what it is I might do or say that people find helpful or healing; then I remember something that was said to me while in counselor training, “It’s the RELATIONSHIP, stupid!” Like anything, the fit between client and group/program (the relationship between group members) is critical. That being said, people needing support who do not identify as Christian or as having a religious/spiritual identity often criticize references to God or a higher power. The requirement of admitting “powerlessness” has also had some scratching their heads wondering how they will ever remain sober if they don’t develop some power over their addiction. I find many tips of the hat to CBT in 12 step concepts and techniques for dealing with cravings, etc. There are also references to living mindfully and learning to be assertive in communication and self-reliant. You take the good, you take the bad. That’s called a dialectic, kids.

Shelly W. 20 Rep. Ago

I’ve heard people say that the 12 steps have kept them clean and saved their lives. I’ve also heard people call 12-step programs a cult with a very small success rate. Opinions on AA & NA seem to be either one extreme or the other. What is your experience? What are your thoughts on AA and NA and other 12-step programs?